Voiced Thoughts

…whilst travelling along life’s road.

rethinking my theology

with 3 comments

Over the past few months I have been reading a number of interesting books on postmodernism and prayer, all of which are well-intentioned efforts at helping Christians develop a more meaningful and a more intimate relationship with God. In the past I have been warned against reading too much into postmodernism (and the movement called the “emerging church”) due to its alleged flimsy basis and its verging onto pluralism. However, I have found my reading very helpful and have found myself questioning things I have previously taken for granted or rethinking ideas I had assumed to be true.

A simple example… the Bible clearly points out that God is omnipotent – that is, all-powerful. He can do anything he wants, whenever he wants. It’s one of the three O’s that I was taught about God; the others being omnipresence (everywhere, all at once) and omniscience (all-knowing).

So, God is omnipotent. Yes. But does God exercise his omnipotence on earth? Well, yes… I believe miracles happen. However, I am swiftly coming to the conclusion that God more often that not chooses not to exercise his omnipotence on earth. C S Lewis in “The Problem of Pain” says that, due to the delicate balance and fundamental laws of nature, instances of miracles – that is, God exercising his power – “should be extremely rare”.

Where am I going with this? Well, there is this modern idea of God being sovereign and omnipotent over his creation; the idea that he has his finger on every button and oversees and orchestrates every detail that happens in the world. While I agree that God is both sovereign and omnipotent over his creation, I no longer believe that he orchestrates and forces every single detail on earth.

And I think it’s a good thing he doesn’t.

If God was responsible for every human interaction and situation (and even a rugby game’s score line) then where is free will? Furthermore, given the apparent acceptance of the above view amongst a lot of people, isn’t it easy to see why so many people struggle with the problem of suffering and blame God for so much?

I do not think God is responsible for World War II nor do I think he is responsible for the scoreline in the last rugby game I played. Rather, I believe that God has created the world with certain rules (a.k.a. the Laws of Nature, and hence the idea that miracles are rare) and allows people to be governed by them and (is this the right word?) “suffer” from causality. This means the blame for the problems in the world should not be given to God. Instead, it rightly lands with us.

The above is only one example of a rethinking of my accepted theology. There are plenty more examples that I’m sure I’ll voice here. This shift in thinking has been (and still is!) disconcerting and lonely. So much so that I have even given consideration as to whether or not I should continue in some of my leadership roles in my church family! However, I do feel that the shift is towards a positive end – a more realistic expectation of God in my life and a more authentic relationship with him.

Written by Mark

July 1, 2008 at 12:31 am

Posted in Personal, Thoughts

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Why does it make you reconsider your role in leadership at 1st?

    You play rugby?

    Ormo

    July 1, 2008 at 2:43 pm

  2. Wow, I know exactly what you mean. I’m going through the same thing. Though it sounds like you’re just starting 🙂

    I took Islamic Studies–I’m a Muslim–as a major in college. It really opened my eyes–and that’s an understatement. I realized there was a lot of depth to the concepts that we just sort of memorize in Sunday School. A lot of it was fascinating but at the same time, I felt a lot of it just became irrelevant with the passage of time. Specifically the parts that deal with Law and government. However, since most people are not ready to accept that or even try to understand it, I try to avoid talking about it altogether, which makes me feel guilty, like I’m a hypocrite or something. So, I perfectly understand what you mean about wanting to “avoid leadership roles”. As for me, I’m afraid to tell them what I think because I don’t want to cause trouble, at the same time, I can’t bring myself to say things I don’t believe in anymore. You’re right–it is lonely.

    I completely agree with your conclusions on the question of whether or not God is directly responsible for every little thing that happens. I wish more people would realize this so that they would stop blaming God for everything that goes wrong in their lives and come closer to Him.

    I’m sorry for the extremely long comment. Just want to say, may God make your search for the truth easy for you.

    AQ

    July 2, 2008 at 8:39 am

  3. I think I agree with everything you have said. It is important to look at what post-modernists and other think about God. The absolutes of modernism are as dangerous sometimes as the fuzziness of postmodernism.

    God does to a large degree stand back. He allows the rules of “nature” to mix with the fruit of mankind’s fallen nature. The result is darkness and suffering. Blimey that sounds a bit likle Yoda!

    At the same time though while you wrestle with these concepts you are wrestling with God just as Jacob did and that is our purpose. In wrestling with Him we gain in our ability to glorify Him. God stands back in a way but at the same time interacts with us daily through our relationships with Him.

    I’m not sure though that God’s miraculous interventions are that rare. For a sovereign God to want to interact with fallen sinners at all is miraculous. For Him to respond to our prayers is outrageous given our nature. And yet He does again and again and in our own Church the miraculous is happening even in “vacancy”.

    I think it is so important that our Church has leaders who are honestly wrestling rather than sitting comfortably on “religious” opinions that they hold on to so tightly that they let go of God and ignore his direction. Keep wrestling and keep leading!

    Sorry to rant.

    Mark F

    July 2, 2008 at 11:30 am


Leave a comment